Julie Anna Tang
Photo by Julie Anna Tang

Official Bio:

JUNE HUR is the bestselling author of YA historical mysteries The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, and The Red Palace. In addition to being nominated twice for the prestigious Edgar Awards, she’s been featured on Forbes, NPR, KBS, and the CBC. Her fourth novel A Crane Among Wolves comes out 2024. Born in South Korea and raised in Canada, she studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. She currently lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter.

Longer Bio:

JUNE (JU EUN) HUR (‘Hur’ pronounced ‘her’ – 허주은) was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto, holds a TESL Certificate from Seneca College, and worked at the Toronto Public Library. Most of her work is inspired by her journey through life as an individual, a dreamer, and a Christian, with all its confusions, doubts, absurdities and magnificence. June is a critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, both finalists for an Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Novel, as well as The Red Palace and A Crane Among Wolves published by Feiwel & Friends, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group. She currently lives in Toronto with her loving husband Bosco, and feisty toddler daughter.

Her YA debut novel THE SILENCE OF BONES, a murder mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1800s), follows a 16-year-old indentured servant within the police bureau who becomes entangled in the politically charged investigation into the murder of a noblewoman. It was named by the American Booksellers Association as one of the top ‘Indies Introduce’ debuts of Winter/Spring 2020, a Junior Library Guild Selection, American Library Awards 2021 Rise Selection, Freeman Book Awards Honorable Mention and 2021 Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee.

Her sophomore novel THE FOREST OF STOLEN GIRLS is another YA historical mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1400s) about a teen who returns homes to pick up the trail after her father vanishes while investigating the disappearance of 13 young women. It is praised by New York Times-bestselling authors Adalyn Grace as “a haunting, breathtaking tale that will have readers on the edge of their seats” and Kathleen Glasgow as “rich, exquisite, and deeply atmospheric.” It was honored as another Junior Library Guild Selection. It received a starred trade review from School Library Journal that said “Hur’s worldbuilding is majestic, transporting readers to Joseon Korea to unravel a compelling mystery” and Publisher Weekly describes it as “a suspenseful, atmospheric historical mystery” that explores women’s lack of bodily agency during this time and the dangers of obsessive protection, adroitly interweaving the historical context of the real horrors that afflicted Korean women from the 13th-century Mongol rule until after 1435.” It was a Junior Library Guild Selection, YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee, Forest of Reading 2022 White Pine Award Nominee, and and 2022 Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee.

Her third novel THE RED PALACE is a romantic YA historical mystery about a palace nurse and a royal investigator teaming up to look into a pattern of grisly murders when the Crown Prince becomes the prime suspect. Evocative and atmospheric, perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco. It received two starred trade reviews from School Library Journal that called it “A tense political thriller, a beautiful romance, and a coming of age all in one unique package” and from Booklist describes it as “A beautifully written story full of historical and cultural details that will leave readers aching for a follow-up.” Praised by New York Times-bestselling authors Jennifer Lynn Barnes (The Inheritance Games) as being “compulsively readable and utterly unique…a must-read murder mystery steeped in royal intrigue” and Adrienne Young (Fable) saying that “court politics and hierarchal society are the stunning backdrop of June Hur’s page-turning, atmospheric…will have readers totally obsessed.” It will be included in the sold-out Fae Crate Jan 2022 Book Box with a new exclusive cover, was selected as Forbes Most Anticipated Books of 2022, featured on CBC Radio, KBS World Radio, The Korea Times, and is an Indie Bestseller for week ending 1/31/2022.

Her fourth novel A CRANE AMONG WOLVES coming 2024 is YA historical mystery that follows a girl and a prince who must join forces to save her sister and the kingdom from King Yeongsangun, one of Korea’s most hated tyrants.

She is represented by literary agent Amy Bishop of Dystel, Goderich & Bourret LLC.

Collage Photos by Bosco Tung

(For blurb requests and for rights inquiries, please contact Amy at abishop [at] dystel [dot] com)

To request an ARC of my books or for general media or event inquiries, please contact: Brittany Pearlman childrens.publicity [at] macmillanusa [dot] com

To get in touch, or if you would like to request an interview, you can reach me at: writerjunehur [at] gmail [dot] com