Julie Anna Tang
Photo by Julie Anna Tang

Official Bio:

June Hur was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. She began writing her debut novel after obsessing over books about Joseon Korea. When she’s not writing, she can be found wandering through nature or journaling at a coffee shop. She is the author of The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, The Red Palace, and A Crane Among Wolves published by Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, and she currently lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter.

Longer Bio:

JUNE HUR (‘Hur’ pronounced ‘her’ – 허주은) was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. Most of her work is inspired by her journey through life as an individual, a dreamer, and a Christian, with all its confusions, doubts, absurdities and magnificence. June is a critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, The Red Palace and A Crane Among Wolves published by Feiwel & Friends, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group. She currently lives in Toronto with her loving husband Bosco, and feisty toddler daughter.

Her YA debut novel THE SILENCE OF BONES, a murder mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1800s), follows a 16-year-old indentured servant within the police bureau who becomes entangled in the politically charged investigation into the murder of a noblewoman. It was named by the American Booksellers Association as one of the top ‘Indies Introduce’ debuts of Winter/Spring 2020, a Junior Library Guild Selection, American Library Awards 2021 Rise Selection, Freeman Book Awards Honorable Mention and 2021 Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee.

Her sophomore novel THE FOREST OF STOLEN GIRLS is another YA historical mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1400s) about a teen who returns homes to pick up the trail after her father vanishes while investigating the disappearance of 13 young women. It is praised by New York Times-bestselling authors Adalyn Grace as “a haunting, breathtaking tale that will have readers on the edge of their seats” and Kathleen Glasgow as “rich, exquisite, and deeply atmospheric.” It was honored as another Junior Library Guild Selection. It received a starred review from School Library Journal that said “Hur’s worldbuilding is majestic, transporting readers to Joseon Korea to unravel a compelling mystery” and Publisher Weekly describes it as “a suspenseful, atmospheric historical mystery” that explores women’s lack of bodily agency during this time and the dangers of obsessive protection, adroitly interweaving the historical context of the real horrors that afflicted Korean women from the 13th-century Mongol rule until after 1435.” It was a Junior Library Guild Selection, YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee, Forest of Reading 2022 White Pine Award Nominee.

Her third novel THE RED PALACE out early next year (01/25/2022) is a romantic YA historical mystery about a palace nurse and a royal investigator teaming up to look into a pattern of grisly murders when the Crown Prince becomes the prime suspect. Evocative and atmospheric, perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco. It is praised by New York Times-bestselling authors Jennifer Lynn Barnes (The Inheritance Games) as “compulsively readable and utterly unique…a must-read murder mystery steeped in royal intrigue” and Adrienne Young (Fable) saying that “court politics and hierarchal society are the stunning backdrop of June Hur’s page-turning, atmospheric…will have readers totally obsessed.” It will be included in the Fae Crate Jan 2022 Book Box.

Her fourth novel A CRANE AMONG WOLVES coming Spring 2023 is YA historical mystery that follows a girl and a prince who must join forces to save her sister and the kingdom from King Yeongsangun, one of Korea’s most hated tyrants.

She is represented by literary agent Amy Bishop of Dystel, Goderich & Bourret LLC.

(For blurb requests and for rights inquiries, please contact Amy at abishop [at] dystel [dot] com)

To request an ARC of my books or for general media or event inquiries, please contact: Brittany Pearlman childrens.publicity [at] macmillanusa [dot] com

To get in touch, or if you would like to request an interview, you can reach me at: writerjunehur [at] gmail [dot] com

(Debut amidst a pandemic…)

Newsletter #6: THE SILENCE OF BONES is out in the world!

Photos by Bosco Tung

Newsletter #8: THE FOREST OF STOLEN GIRLS is out in the world!

Newsletter #9: The History behind THE RED PALACE