THE RED PALACE

_RedPalace_CVR

Pre-order now from:
Amazon.com / Amazon.ca
Barnes and Noble
Book Depository
IndieBound
Books-A-Million
Powell’s
Bookshop
Chapters Indigo

Book Box:
Fae Crate Jan 2022

E-Books:
B&N Nook
Google Books
Kobo
Ebooks.com
Apple iBooks
Amazon.com / Amazon.ca


June Hur, critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones and The Forest of Stolen Girls, returns with The Red Palace—a third evocative, atmospheric, & romantic historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.

To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood…

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, seventeen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father’s approval.

But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders four women in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon’s closest friend and mentor. Determined to prove her beloved teacher’s innocence, Hyeon launches her own secret investigation.

In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself as the murderer, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the deadly secrets behind the bloodshed.

THE RED PALACE released on January 25, 2022

221-2218010_add-to-goodreads-goodreads-hd-png-download

Feiwel & Friends

Publishes: 01/25/2022

ISBN: 9781250800558

336 Pages, Ages 13-18

Praise for The Red Palace:

Indie Bestsellers List (based on sales for week ending 1/31/2022)

2 Starred Reviews: School Library Journal & Booklist

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Forbes Most Anticipated Book of 2022 Selection

Pop Sugar Best YA Books of 2022 Selection

CBC Radio – “The Next Chapter with Shelagh Rogers” (Jan 22, 2022)

CBC Books – Spring Preview 2022 Top Canadian YA Pick

The Korean Times – “Korean Canadian author’s Joseon-era mystery novel gains traction in US”

KBS World Radio – “조선시대 배경 추리소설로 주목받는 캐나다 작가, 허주은”

Compulsively readable and utterly uniqueThe Red Palace is a must-read murder mystery steeped in royal intrigue.” —Jennifer Lynn Barnes, New York Times-bestselling author of The Inheritance Games

“Court politics and hierarchal society are the stunning backdrop of June Hur’s page-turning, atmospheric The Red Palace. Hur’s meticulous worldbuilding and immersive storytelling will have readers totally obsessed.” —Adrienne Young, New York Times-bestselling author of Fable

“Hur’s Joseon mysteries are groundbreaking, and this retelling of Prince Sado is no exception. … Hur set the bar high with her previous works and has cleared it with room to spare. A tense political thriller, a beautiful romance, and a coming of age all in one unique package.” —School Library Journalstarred review

“This atmospheric historical mystery will transport and captivate readers … Hur deftly incorporates the class system, patriarchal restrictions, and court politics, as well as Korean words, into the storyline, broadening the world and cultural richness of the story … A beautifully written story full of historical and cultural details that will leave readers aching for a follow-up.” —Bookliststarred review

Steeped in rich historical details, Hur’s palace thriller offers a sharp critique of the monarchy’s abuse of power while maintaining a quick pace and crafting a captivating murder mystery.” —Publishers Weekly

“The Red Palace is an expertly choreographed mystery with a touch of romance and an emotionally satisfying conclusion that beautifully binds fiction to fact. It’s the perfect book to curl up with for a cozy winter afternoon of murder and intrigue.” —NPR Book Reviews

Exciting and fast-paced, this unusual detective story transports readers to Korea’s Joseon Dynasty, providing (per the author’s note) one version of the tragic true story of Crown Prince Jangheon. … A testament to Hur’s dedication in researching Korea’s complex history. Romance, adventure, and mystery keep pages turning, and readers will undoubtedly find themselves drawn to Hyeon’s smarts, ambition, and strong will.” —The Horn Book

If you are a fan of Korean historical dramas and murder mysteries, you cannot go wrong with June Hur’s books. Her atmospheric prose brings Joseon-era Korea to life in all its richness and complexities while elegantly spinning a web of sinister intrigue and suspense. … I’m excited to experience a mystery unfolding in the Changdeok Palace in its original language, without having to rely on subtitles and Wikipedia articles.” —Reera Yoo, co-host of Books & Boba

“This standalone will have you racing to solve this mystery while also swooning for the blooming romance between our leads.” – Fae Crate “Mysterious Ways” January 2022

Newsletter #9: The History Behind THE RED PALACE!
Newsletter #10: THE RED PALACE is now out in the world!
Spotify Playlist compiled by Author
Illustration by Tara Spruit
The Red Palace Hardcover Jacket

Read the first chapter: https://us.macmillan.com/books/9781250800558/theredpalace